My Aden and Anais Love Affair

ourstory_1280x400I’m not ashamed to admit it…I’m not immune to celebrity trends and fads.

Far too often, the item of desire lies outside the scope of my budget… but once in a while I will be introduced to a great product through a celeb sighting, and I literally MUST. HAVE. IT.

Such was the case for Sophie La Giraffe, after seeing everyone from Sandra Bullock to Ashton Kutcher, Nichole Richie to Uma Thurman with the famed little Giraffe, and I knew I had to get my hands on them for the Twincesses.

So it’s no surprise that when William and Kate presented their firstborn, Prince George, to the world in 2013, I was completely intrigued by the gorgeous, and relatively inexpensive muslin blanket he was wrapped in as they popped him into his car seat.

aden and anais prince george Twincess Diaries Blog

The brand is somewhat iconic. Loved by celebs far and wide, and yet accessible to the average parent. Since the company’s inception just 10 years ago, Raegan Moya-Jones’ passionate belief in the principles of safety, comfort, simplicity and style has transformed the simple swaddle into a thing of beauty.

aden-anais-izdelki-znane-osebnosti-otroška-trgovina-gozna-vila

The signature products are made from muslin – but don’t be fooled, not all muslin is created equal.

Aden and Anais uses the purest, softest, silkiest muslin I have ever laid hands on. The prints are beautiful and ever-evolving, with cutsie collection names; and the product line is growing rapidly (now includes clothing items!)

The image of the Little Prince in his Jim Jam swaddle stuck in my head, and when we were expecting the Twincesses a year later, I went ahead and ordered swaddles in the exact print. When my order arrived, I was blown away by the superior quality of the product. I promptly went online and placed several more orders for other items, including swaddles in gorgeous prints like For the Birds, Oasis, Moonlight, Twinkle and Liam the Brave. I also ordered a set of burpy bibs, 2 hooded towels and 6 sleeping bags in various TOGs to get us through the change of seasons, and the big cross continental move from Paris to Durban.

And so began my love affair with Aden and Anais.

I must say, that each and every product is definitely worth its price tag. The quality is outstanding, and the items will last a lifetime if cared for properly (perfect for handing down to new siblings, or to donate to a charity as preloved items).

The Aden and Anais customer service team is excellent, and while I admit I did have an issue with the zipper on the sleeping bag I purchased, the matter was instantly resolved and a replacement arrived within days – the most efficient service I have ever experienced!

The dream blankets are by far the Twincesses favourite items, with both girls favouring the ‘Up, Up and Away’ blankets so much, that they still use them daily to play on (even though we have transitioned from blankets to sleeping bags). I’ve had to wash these blankets several times as the girls make such good use of it, and can honestly say it gets softer after each wash. The quality is so exceptional that even after a multitude of washes, the blankets are in pristine condition without a fray or wear in sight. Incredible.

The swaddles have saved us many a sleepless night when the Twincesses were babies, and they made perfect, stylish pram covers whenever we took the girls on a stroll. We have used them  as picnic blankets when out at the park, and they still make the perfect summer cover up for South Africa’s harsh temperatures. They are as versatile as an item can be.

I recently purchased 2 Bamboo sleeping bags from the Tranquillity range (with silky rayon from bamboo fibre muslin) and I must say that Aden and Anais have outdone themselves on this one.  Softer than anything you could imagine, the sleeping bags are breathable and light enough for the Spring and Autumn months in South Africa.

I also have 2 sleeping bags stashed away from the Cosy range which are comprised of four layers of muslin (1.7 TOG) , to keep the Twincesses extra warm and comfy when the temperature drops in Durban this coming winter.

I will be sure to review the sleeping bags in a separate post as they are the most perfect sleep aid ever invented.

1220_3-gift-set-baby-muslin-baby-sleep-birds-icon

I am yet to try the Merino wool products, and I can’t begin to grasp how amazing they must be.

Unfortunately we never got to use the Aden and Anais clothing range, as by the time my order would have arrived from overseas (never found a supplier in SA), the twins would have been too big for them. (Clothing sizes range from 0-12 months).The smock top and ruffle bloomer is so darn cute though, it makes me wish the Twincesses were new-borns again!

The items make the ultimate gift, and are beautifully packaged in Aden and Anais’ signature boxes. I’ve lauded the brand so much to family and friends, that many are now Aden and Anais converts on my recommendation!

My only gripe is the limited suppliers importing the products to South Africa which means I struggle with availability. Most of the items I own I have been purchased before we left France and for new items, I now plan my purchases to coincide with family and friends’ visits to SA, so they inadvertently become my A&A mules!

All in all, I absolutely love Aden and Anais. Their products have simplified my life in the most stylish way possible, and I’m happy knowing my Twincesses are enjoying the luxurious softness the brand offers during their sleep and play times.

PS: The Aden and Anais Loveys (Musy Mates) are the cutest things you will ever lay your eyes on, and are bound to become your baby’s cant-live-without item…so make sure you get 2!

header_musy_mate_lovey_organic_v2Securiy_Blankets_RotatingImage_1_US

 

{products images from Aden and Anais websites}

Leave a Reply

